CPHR NL Announces Award of Distinction Recipients - CPHR NL

News Release


CPHR NL Announces Award of Distinction Recipients

Neil Coombs Receives Association’s Highest Honour


February 22, 2022, St. John’s: The Chartered Professionals in Human Resources of Newfoundland and Labrador (CPHR NL) is pleased to announce the recipients of the Association’s Awards of Distinction for 2022.  The awards are presented by the Association for the first time this year. 

President’s Award

The Association President’s Award is presented to Neil Coombs.  Neil is a human resources professional with more than 20 years’ experience as an HR leader in a broad range of industries.  Neil received the Chartered Professional in Human Resources designation in 2006.   After graduating from Memorial University with a Bachelor of Commerce Co-op degree in 2001, he worked in HR with the Government of Northwest Territories. He returned home in 2003 to join the province’s tech sector as head of HR with Plato Consulting, and subsequently started and later sold Octagon Group. Neil is currently a Partner with Higher Talent and is the Director of Human Resources with Fonemed. 

An active volunteer, Neil has served on the boards of directors of several HR associations locally and abroad, including President of CPHR NL and Chairperson of the Board of CPHR Canada, the first from this province to hold the national position.  He also served as a board director of the North American HR Management Association.

“Throughout his career, Neil Coombs has demonstrated a strong passion and commitment to the human resources profession,” said Leroy Murphy, President of CPHR NL.  “He is an experienced human resources practitioner, with an in-depth knowledge and understanding of HR and an effective champion of the profession provincially, nationally and internationally.”

Association Volunteer Award

The Association’s Volunteer Award is presented to the team of Linette Moores and Lisa Rodrigues. 

Linette and Lisa have been, and continue to be, critical members of the Association’s Certification Committee since 2015.  Over time, they have led several critical processes involved in the awarding of the CPHR designation in the province, including the national knowledge exam, validation of experience and continuing professional development requirements. When the COVID pandemic hit the province in 2020, Linette and Lisa were instrumental in pivoting the delivery of the national exam from an in-person to virtual format.

“Not only have these two individuals dedicated an enormous amount of personal time leading and changing operational processes within CPHR NL for the last 7 years, they are always eager to help whenever and however they can.  As a organization run primarily by volunteers, we’d be lost without their contributions,” noted CPHR NL President Leroy Murphy.

Linette Moores is currently Marketing Partnerships and Industry Liaison with the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador’s Department of Tourism, Culture, Arts and Recreation.  She has been a member of CPHR NL for over 15 years, and received her HR professional designation in 2007. Lisa Rodrigues is currently Manager, Organizational Effectiveness with the Newfoundland and Labrador Liquor Corporation.  She joined the Association in 2011 and received her professional designation in 2013.

About the Association and Awards Program

Established in 2004, the Chartered Professionals in Human Resources of Newfoundland and Labrador (CPHR NL) represents members of the human resources profession across the province.  It confers the professional CPHR designation in the province, promotes excellence in the profession and provides opportunities for its members to grow professionally and to network.

The President’s Award shines a spotlight on individuals who have demonstrated exceptional accomplishments in the field of human resources and also contribute to the recognition and advancement of the human resources profession as a whole.  The Volunteer Award recognizes individuals who have made a significant contribution to the work of the Association in a volunteer capacity.